FANDOM


The Utah State School Board consists of 15 elected members, one from each school district. In addition to the 15 elected members, two members of the State Board of Regents serve as non-voting members. They are appointed by the chair of the Board of Regents and serve without a set term. Elected board members serve 4 year terms. The State Board must meet at least 11 times a year to conduct its business. Current members of the State School Board are found at http://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members.htm.

Utah School Board Districts up for Election in 2010: 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 14, & 15

Election ProcessEdit

The process for electing State Board members is determined by the State Legislature. Currently, the Governor appoints members to Nominating and Recruiting Committees for each school district by May 1. The Governor will designate one member to serve as chair of each committee, which is composed of 7 members: one teacher, one administrator, one representative of a parent association, one local school board member, and 3 representatives of the community. The Lt. Governor will then submit a list of all individuals who filed a declaration of candidacy to the chair of the nominating committee by June 1. The nominating committee then has until August 1 to submit a list of up to five, but no fewer than three candidates for the State Board of Education to the Governor. The Governor will select two of these candidates to be placed on the ballot by September 1. The public then votes between the two candidates in the general election. Candidates are non-partisan.

Here are some links which outline the process for electing State Board members.

http://utaheducationfacts.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=173:utah-state-board-of-education&catid=74:how-its-organized&Itemid=101

http://elections.utah.gov/UtahStateSchool%20Board.htm
http://www.schools.utah.gov/BOARD/members/slideshow.htm (slide 6)
http://gva1.utah.gov/boards/board.aspx?id=101125
http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE20A/htm/20A14_010400.htm
http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE20A/htm/20A14_010500.htm

CandidatesEdit

Click on the name of a candidate to see their response to the questionnaire.

Name County District Phone Email Notes
Keith M. Buswell Weber 2 801-737-0702 kbuswell@wadman.com
Richard H. Favero Weber 2 801-731-1463 richardfavero@aol.com
Lisa Galvez Weber 2 801-392-8591 lisa@zevlag.com
Monty B. Hardy Weber 2 801-731-6566 Dad@TheHardyParty.org
David A. Hicken Weber 2 801-627-1177 david@hicken-family.com
Ann Meeks Weber 2 801-786-1952 meeksann@msn.com
Burtis J. Bills Salt Lake 3 801-465-4040 burtis.bills@comcast.net
Douglas G. Bowen Salt Lake 3 801-798-2289 DGBowen@aol.com
Craig E. Coleman Salt Lake 3 801-754-3655 dosmetros57@gmail.com
Robert E. H. Enger Salt Lake 3 801-558-7945 robbenger@gmail.com
D. Clark Turner Salt Lake 3 801-465-4830 cturnerxray@yahoo.com
Kim R. Burningham Davis 5 801-292-9261 krb84010@aol.com
Diane Smith Cales Davis 5 801-797-9572 dianescales@live.com
Nicole Toomey Davis Davis 5 801-550-6642 ndavis@cove-mtn.com
Ruland Gill Davis 5 801-292-3842 Ruland.Gill@gmail.com
Aneladee J. Milne Davis 5 801-864-2893 aneladee@yahoo.com
Lisa Reed Davis 5 801-296-5830 reed.lisa@gmail.com
Randy C. Smith Davis 5 801-923-8358 smith.randy.c@gmail.com
Brad Walters Davis 5 801-593-9377 brad@earlyrun.com
Lawrence Wright Davis 5 801-386-9633 lwconsulting@mac.com
Hank Bertoch Salt Lake 6 801-569-5368 hbertoch@wasatchelectric.com
John H. Hohlbauch Salt Lake 6 801-250-0070 CBGOP03@yahoo.com
Michael G. Jensen Salt Lake 6 801-955-5550 jensen1brit@earthlink.net
Joel Coleman Salt Lake 9 801-634-6251 joel@joelcoleman.com
Daniel Steven Isham Salt Lake 9 801-608-5222 Emplear@gmail.com
Denis R. Morrill Salt Lake 9 801-969-2334 denguatemala3@yahoo.com
Milton C. Witt Salt Lake 9 801-815-4805 miltonwitt@yahoo.com
Laurel O. Brown Salt Lake 10 801-261-4221 laurelobrown@hotmail.com
Dixie Lee Allen Uintah 14 435-789-0534 dxlallen@yahoo.com
Virginia Yazzie Howard San Pete 14 435-462-0113 ginnyyhoward@yahoo.com
Michael R. "Mike" Miles Sevier 14 435-527-4741 mrmiles14@gmail.com
John Thayne Duchesne 14 435-454-3211 johny.thayne@live.com
Tom Jett Iron 15 435-590-2865 Tomalmighty@yahoo.com
Debra G. Roberts Beaver 15 435-438-5843 debrar@netutah.com
Paul B. Terry Iron 15 435-477-0127 pterry@1stcounsel.com

This page was derived from the candidates who filed for office, found online at http://elections.utah.gov/2010Candidates.htm

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.